Goldberg Variations Plus

Ensemble Perpetuo presents the trio arrangement of Bach’s timeless Goldberg Variations alongside newly commissioned works which take this masterpiece as their inspiration. The ensemble has invited composers from both the classical and folk world whose background is in Celtic culture to respond to Bach’s music using ideas of traditional dance forms.

Ensemble Perpetuo is a collective of musicians who bring classic and contemporary music to unusual spaces. Their string trio is led by Fenella Humphreys who is no stranger to the Festival and whose recent recordings have been winning 5-star reviews.

Ensemble Perpetuo

Fenella Humphreys Violin
Simon Tandree Viola
Cara Berridge Cello

JS Bach Goldberg Variations BWV 988 (arr. Dmitry Sitkovetsky)
David Fennessy Airs, Jigs and Reels
Donald Grant
Alasdair Nicolson
Aidan O’Rourke
Ailie Robertson

This project is supported by PRS Foundation’s The Open Fund.


We send out occasional newsletters with information about our forthcoming events and recordings. To join our mailing list, fill in your details below. Thank you for your time!
Email address
First Name
Last Name